Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Tuned Offline OP
OP Offline
We have a US Robotics Sportster 33.6 Fax Modem that we need to set up to connect to our ASA. It's my first time using one as we normally use MultiTech modems on our routers which allow us to add the connection string to the AUX port on the router. I've been trying to reverse telnet from my laptop using Hyperterminal but I don't seem to get a connection. I'm using a Cisco rollover cable with a db-9 to rj-45 on my laptop side and a db-25 to rj-45. I'm using the following pinouts for the connections:

DB9 to RJ 45
1 (Blue) DSR(out) 6
2 (Orange) CTS(out) 8
3 (Black) GRD 5
4 (Red) TX(in) 3
5 (Green) RX(out) 2
6 (Yellow) DCD(out) 1
7 (Brown) RTS(in) 7
8 (Gray) DTR(in) 4

RJ-45 DB-25M/F
1 (Blue) DSR(out) 6
2 (Orange) CTS(out) 5
3 (Black) GRD 7
4 (Red) TX(in) 2
5 (Green) RX(out) 3
6 (Yellow) DCD(out) 8
7 (Brown) RTS(in) 4
8 (Gray) DTR(in) 20

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong or missing, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

I had success using DB9 to DB9 however it has been a while.

Moderator-Comdial
Moderator-Comdial
You're using the Cisco serial cable! Connect a standard 9/25 modem cable and you won't have any problems.

Tuned Offline OP
OP Offline
Yeah I was attempting to use the two db-to-rj connectors and the rolled rj-to-rj cable that Cisco supplies with the ASA for just such an occasion. I'll give it a try using a 9/25 if I can dig one out. Thanks.

Moderator-1A2, Cabling
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
If you don't have one - ask. I'm sure someone here has one.

Sam