atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: LittleMike VoIP Student - 09/19/08 09:45 PM
I am a high school student. and I am looking to forward my studies in telecom. my school has VoIP phones. The teacher had a telecom person come and talk to the class about technology. he was using terms like PRI, POTS, DIDs, SRST, ect..

I have a basic understanding that pri is a ISDN T1 connection. my question is how does it all tie together. as far as connecting pots lines to pri and setting up srst for a fail over. I know this site is not for newbies like me. I was hoping someone could help me with how all of this come together in a Voip world.

Thanks

Mike
Posted By: EV607797 Re: VoIP Student - 09/19/08 10:35 PM
I know this site is not for newbies like me.
Mike, nothing could be farther from the truth. We are happy to help people learn this industry. You'll soon find that feedback to your post will be followed by plenty of insightful advice.

By the way, you need to work on your capital letters if you want to be taken seriously by professionals. We aren't texting here.

welcome
Posted By: gcave Re: VoIP Student - 09/21/08 08:33 AM
Mike here is a good video that describes SRST. (Survivable Remote Site Telephony) Basically in a centralized call processing model where phones are registering to a cluster at the headquarters, if the sites do not have some sort of redundancy and the WAN link goes down you will not be able to process any calls. What happens with SRST is the phones register with the local IOS router and get their call processing capability from it. All the calls will go out the local H.323 or MGCP gateway & incoming calls will be handled in a way you configure. For incoming calls, I can setup DID translations for a PRI or I can route a voice-port to any extension or group of extensions.

https://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/voicesw/ps2169/index.html
Posted By: LittleMike Re: VoIP Student - 09/21/08 05:09 PM
Thanks gcave